Compare the earning event before you compare the percentage. Cardtapp pays on the first payment, businesscards.io describes a recurring lifetime commission, and Zapped publishes a variable first payment commission. A smaller number can be easier to explain and forecast than a larger one with missing terms.
That is the useful answer if you are deciding whether to promote a digital business card service. The rate is only one input. You also need to know which customer purchase counts, how the referral is attributed, when money arrives, and whether the plan your audience actually buys is commissionable.
Find the event that creates the payout
Start with the part most affiliate headlines leave vague: what has to happen before a commission exists?
| Program | Commission model | Attribution and payout detail | What can change the math |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardtapp | 20% of the first payment, rising up to 30% as referrals increase | Unique sign up link from the affiliate dashboard, PayPal, within 30 days after month end | Enterprise and Group purchases are excluded |
| businesscards.io | 30% recurring lifetime commission while the referred customer remains a customer | 30 day cookie, PayPal payments, affiliate dashboard | The recurring value depends on the customer staying subscribed |
| Zapped | Variable commission from the first payment and a $50 minimum withdrawal | The public affiliate page names the first payment and withdrawal threshold | Cookie duration and post first payment recurrence are not stated on that page |
The first two rows differ in a way that changes the whole forecast. Cardtapp's percentage is tied to the customer's first payment. businesscards.io's published model keeps paying while that customer remains a customer. Zapped gives you a rate that varies by plan, but its public page describes the first payment and does not state a cookie duration or whether later payments recur.
So the right program depends on the sentence you can defend. Cardtapp gives you a bounded first payment and a dashboard process you can describe. businesscards.io is built around recurring revenue, provided you are comfortable explaining that retention drives the upside. Zapped is a documented, plan linked example whose unstated attribution terms need confirmation before the headline becomes a forecast.
Attribution is where the headline gets humbled
A commission exists only when the program can connect the customer to your referral and the purchase meets its rules. Cardtapp's affiliate terms require the unique sign up link issued through its affiliate dashboard, show traffic, total sales, and pending commissions there, and say payouts are sent through PayPal within 30 days from the end of the calendar month. Enterprise and Group purchases do not qualify under the published program terms.
businesscards.io's affiliate terms publish a 30 day cookie and recurring commissions for every paying customer you refer. They also name PayPal and an affiliate dashboard. That gives you a clean recommendation sentence: the customer follows the authorized link, the referral is tracked for 30 days, and the commission continues while the subscription remains active.
Zapped's page gives you two usable facts. The commission comes from a referred user's first payment, and withdrawals have a $50 minimum. It leaves the cookie duration and renewal schedule unstated. Do not invent a number. Ask for the current partner terms, use only the unique tracking link or dashboard the program authorizes, and model the referral as first payment only until recurrence is documented.

The withdrawal threshold changes the practical experience too. A small commission may be real and still sit below the minimum for a while. If your audience mostly buys low priced plans, check whether the program's payment cadence and minimum make sense for your expected volume before you build content around it.
Let the customer's bill set the scale
The customer has to buy something that fits their job. In the August 2026 pricing snapshot, Cardtapp lists a 30 day free trial, Essentials at $59 per month, and Pro at $79 per month. businesscards.io's pricing ladder lists a 7 day trial, Starter at $3 per month, Plus at $6, Team at $30, and Scale at $60.
Zapped lists Free at $0, Starter at $14 per month, Professional at $49 per month, and Large rollout at a custom quote. Its documented affiliate earnings are 25% on Free, 35% on Starter, and 50% on Professional, according to Zapped's monthly pricing. Free is one card with five blocks. Starter offers 15 cards, and Professional offers 100. Analytics history moves from 60 days to 185 days to 365 days, while team workspaces move from none to two to five.
HiHello is a boundary case rather than a simple affiliate comparison. HiHello's public pricing lists Personal Free, Professional at $6 per month, Business at $5 per user per month, and Enterprise custom. Business includes unlimited cards, event lead capture, team analytics, and SSO or directory sync. Its Brand Partner Program is an Enterprise feature for organizations with affiliates, contractors, or franchisees. Partners pay independently while the organization keeps brand consistency and oversight.
The price ladder tells you who is likely to respond to the recommendation. A solo professional may try a free or $3 plan, which makes a recurring percentage look attractive but produces a small dollar amount. A team rollout creates a larger commissionable bill, but it also demands a more specific product fit and a careful explanation of seats, cards, deployment, and approval.
Promote the product job, not your favorite rate
Cardtapp is the clearest fit when the promotion is about lead capture and follow up. Its lead and integration features include a real time lead dashboard, alerts when contacts install, tap, or forward a card, and more than 5,000 CRM and tool integrations through Zapier. That gives you a concrete angle: recommend it to an audience that needs to notice a new contact and move that person into an existing workflow.
businesscards.io makes more sense when contact collection and deployment are the story. Its team plans include statistics, custom forms, and team management. Team supports up to 20 users and 100 cards. Scale supports up to 100 users and 300 cards, with up to 10 custom forms, CSV bulk uploads, HubSpot and Salesforce integrations, and white label wallet passes. Enterprise says bulk deployment has no stated hard limit and is priced by team size.
Zapped is strongest in the shareable profile lane. A card can be shared by QR code, link, or NFC tap, and the recipient opens it in a normal browser without installing an app. The live card can be edited after sharing, and the product documents per card analytics. Free includes one card and five blocks, Starter includes 15 cards and 185 days of analytics history, and Professional includes 100 cards, 365 days of history, team workspaces, and a plan linked affiliate earnings figure, as described in Zapped's card and analytics documentation.
That also gives Zapped an honest limit. Its center of gravity is card creation, sharing, capture, and analytics, not deep CRM style follow up automation. If your audience needs lead alerts and integrations first, Cardtapp is the more direct fit. If they need a structured team deployment with bulk uploads, businesscards.io or a large Zapped rollout deserves the closer look. We build Zapped, so weigh that inclusion accordingly.
If you are making this decision for a company rather than an individual creator, the next question is how to evaluate rollout needs beyond referral economics. See evaluate platforms for companies before choosing the offer you will put in front of a team.
Run the conservative math first
Use the commissionable price, not the most flattering plan in the table. For Cardtapp, 20% of Essentials at $59 is $11.80 on the first payment. At the published upper rate of 30%, the same first payment would be $17.70. Pro at $79 produces $15.80 at 20% or $23.70 at 30%. These are first payment examples, not lifetime earnings.
businesscards.io's 30% rate produces $0.90 on a $3 Starter payment, $1.80 on Plus at $6, $9 on Team at $30, and $18 on Scale at $60. Because the program describes lifetime recurring commission, a customer who stays subscribed can create additional payments. Model that retention scenario separately. Do not present it as guaranteed income.
For Zapped, the documented plan rates produce $4.90 on a $14 Starter first payment and $24.50 on a $49 Professional first payment. Free produces no dollar commission at a $0 price, even though the plan comparison lists a 25% affiliate earnings figure. The public affiliate page says the commission comes from the first payment and sets a $50 minimum withdrawal, so use those first payment numbers until the program confirms anything further.
The formula is deliberately boring:
commissionable plan price × documented rate = modeled commission
Then apply the program's actual earning event. If it says first payment, stop the base model there. If it says recurring while the customer remains subscribed, add a clearly labeled retention scenario. If it does not say, do not fill the silence with optimism.
Put the disclosure beside the recommendation
The reader should not have to hunt for the reason you are recommending a platform. The FTC's disclosure guidance says affiliate relationships should be clear and conspicuous near the recommendation or link. It gives this plain example: “I get commissions for purchases made through links in this post.” The guidance also says “affiliate link” by itself may not adequately explain that the publisher receives payment from purchases.
Put the disclosure before or beside the relevant recommendation, not in a footer separated from the claim. For example:
I get commissions for purchases made through links in this post. I recommend businesscards.io for teams that need recurring contact capture and bulk deployment, subject to its current partner terms.
The first sentence explains the financial relationship. The second tells the reader why the recommendation exists. If you are linking to Zapped from an owned publication, make the relationship just as plain and keep its first payment language intact. A clean disclosure earns more trust than a polished percentage.
Make the recommendation you can defend
Cardtapp earns the clearest recommendation when your audience needs lead alerts and follow up, and you want to model a defined first payment with a dashboard link, PayPal payout method, and published month end timing. Its Enterprise and Group exclusion belongs in the explanation, because the biggest looking purchase is not automatically commissionable.
businesscards.io fits an audience that can plausibly buy beyond the $3 or $6 entry points and that values recurring contact capture, forms, integrations, or bulk team deployment. Its 30 day cookie gives you an attribution term you can explain, while retention remains the variable that determines whether the recurring model matters.
Zapped fits readers who need shareable profiles, browser based access, live destinations, and plan based analytics. Include the documented plan rates and the $50 withdrawal minimum. Ask for the cookie and renewal terms before promising more than a first payment. We build Zapped, so weigh that inclusion accordingly.
Skip any promotion that turns an unstated cookie window, refund rule, renewal schedule, or payout cadence into an earnings claim. Ask the program owner for the current partner terms, use the authorized tracking method, and model first payment only until recurrence is documented. The best affiliate offer is the one your reader can understand before clicking.